Advertisements
Advertisements
My partner and I are currently in the process of adopting an 11 year old boy. He came to us in the beginning of June and were now only a couple of weeks away from him being with us for 6 months. He was 10 when he came and turned 11 a month ago.
I am a teacher, so when my son, A, came to live with us in June, I was off work for the summer. This allowed us extra time to bond and allowed me to focus on him. My partner and I (we’ll call him R) also have a daughter, E. A and I quickly bonded within a couple of weeks had a very noticeable connection. This bond has only grown since then. I would say at this point, in only 5 and a half months, we have developed a very legitimate father/son relationship. He is very open and affectionate with me. He wants hugs all the time, loves to cuddle with me, tells me he loves me all the time, we pick and play, we have little games between us and inside jokes, he will talk with me about his past and his feelings, he’s told me that no one has ever made him feel more loved and safe... At a sibling visit, his older brother, who is being adopted by another family, told me that he was “amazed” because he had never seen his brother allow himself to get so close to anyone other than their deceased father. Hearing this was a huge honor to me and validated what I have felt from my son.