Advertisements
Advertisements
I feel like foster caring is my calling for this point in my life. I am currently studying and my course finishes in a few months where I will have a very flexible, work from home job (or not work at all) and I want to foster young children 0-6years. I want this age group as I’ve completed studies in early childhood education and care so feel this age group would best suit my ability and experience. I’ve also nannied this age group (mostly 0-3 years). I love kids and want to help but whenever I mention that it’s something I’m seriously considering (I’ve done months of research!) people laugh and say I’m way too young and I’d never cope with those “damaged kids”. Do you think this is true?
I still live with my mum but my older siblings have just moved out so we now have spare bedrooms and I feel the timing is right. My mum is on board with it and thinks it will be great for me! So I have her support, but nobody else’s pretty much. I have a decent chunk in savings however if I fostered I would cut back on work/not work at all, will I struggle with the money side of it? I obviously don’t want to dig into my savings as that’s setting myself up for my future but I’m not sure if what we get payed covers everything for the child or if I’d be out of pocket (I do not expect any wages/leftovers I just don’t know if I’m financially okay to afford a child!). Everywhere I’ve read has said financially stable but they also say it’s best if you don’t work so I don’t understand how you can have both?
Any help and insight I’d really appreciate as I feel in my heart I want to start on this journey!
Advertisements