Amy & Trent

Hoping to Adopt (Texas)


Meet Trent

After a diverse career that has seen Trent work in the sports industry, in media, and in health care, he always had the urge to follow in many of his family member's footsteps and teach. He's happily in his second year of teaching high school and loving it. Trent has always enjoyed school - he earned two master's degrees after college - and is committed to helping kids learn. He's looking forward to reading to his child, and to answering the dozens of questions he'll get. In his spare time, Trent enjoys reading, cooking, keeping up with his favorite sports teams, and even playing the occasional video game (it'll be fun to see how long it takes his child to beat him in a Playstation game). He also helps lead Bible studies for his church group; even though he's a lifelong Christian, he still seems to always find something new in the Bible.

Meet Amy

After starting her career as a teacher, Amy decided to move out of the classroom and into the field of standardized testing. She works in the education field, and has been with her current company for over 14 years. Amy was raised in the church, and her faith is a very important part of her life. She attended a religious college in Minnesota, which she has fond memories of. And she's very active in her church groups today. She comes from a family of bowlers - in fact, she essentially learned to bowl as soon as she learned to walk. No matter where she's lived, she's been in a bowling league for decades, and she's been a regular competitor at the national women's tournament since 2004.

Our Home

We're fortunate to have a very nice, large house with ample space for our child to play in and around. Our backyard opens up to a golf course, so there's no shortage of grass and hills in the immediate area. Our house is on a long cul-de-sac, so it's quiet. And given the climate in our part of Texas, we're able to be outside almost year-round. Our community is relatively new because families continue to move to this area, and lots of new houses and schools are being built. We live in a safe neighborhood that contains a mixture of families and a few retirees, and a diversity of racial backgrounds. Our housing community has a large swimming pool, playground, and tennis courts. We have lots of parks in our part of town, and there are new sports fields/sports complexes under construction as more youth sports leagues continue to form.

What We Enjoy

We both love to travel to see new sights, experience new cultures, meet new people, etc. We've traveled all across the country since getting married - from Alaska and Hawaii to Florida and Pennsylvania. We've traveled internationally to Europe, Mexico, Canada, the Bahamas, and several Caribbean islands. We look forward to sharing all those experiences with our child. We both love going to sports events and watching them on TV. And now we enjoy playing fantasy football together - Trent has been in the same league since high school, and when they had a vacancy a few years ago, Amy joined, and now she's hooked. In actual sports, we both enjoy walking for exercise. Amy, as previously noted, is an active bowler. Trent aims to get back into golf - with the stray golf balls we find from the adjacent golf course, he has no shortage of golf balls to use! We're both active readers who always seem to be in the midst of a good book. And we both like to pass time by playing games - whether puzzle books or tablet/computer games.

Our Plans

The child we adopt will be our first child, and we're planning to document our child's life with a traditional baby book. Things like baby's first step, baby's first word, a lock of hair, etc. All the fun things we can document, we will do. It's a great keepsake for our child (we both have our own baby books), and will no doubt bring us all many great memories. We don't have any pets right now, but ironically we both had Springer Spaniels as pets while growing up. We could easily see adding a dog to our family if it benefits our child. We already have a fenced-in backyard, and we both like walking for exercise, so we could easily accommodate a dog.

Host: www2