Advertisements
Advertisements
My boyfriend had a daughter from a previous marriage that he has not seen in 4 years. When she was a toddler he discovered that she was not his child. Because of California law, he is still liable for child support and of course the mother denies the blood test. 2 years ago his ex-wife called and asked him to send a notarized letter releasing custody. He did and put in the letter that he was doing so under the assumption that the child support he was paying would be ended. We have not heard anything since and he continues to pay child support and medical. My question is this: How can we find out if the child was adopted by her step-father (which we suspect happened) and if she was adopted does this mean my boyfriend is no longer liable for child support? Any help you can provide would be very much appreciated. Thank you!
Its painful to hear your situation, I am not a lawyer but i do feel deep in my heart that you man should not have to pay a dime anymore..I alsothought that the only way he would be liable still after paternity test to pay is if his name was on the birth cerificate. If this is true take some action to remove his name from the birth certificate. He loves her i think and it isvery hard but you have to do what you have to do. you can always have a consultation from a lawyer to see what you can do. Go to a court house and talk to them they can help you. Also do you have a copy of this notarized letter? If you do you have proof of this action that was taken place. Call a lawyer and get a free consultation, what do you have to lose? Good Luck;)
Advertisements