Can I Adopt in Illinois?
Applicants can be single, married, or divorced. Parents must complete a home study. The future home for the child must have adequate space for every family member living in the home. Parents will need to pass a criminal background check, medical history check, and prove that their income is stable enough to support another child. For foster adoptions, parents may need to complete 27 hours of adoption training before qualification.
What Adoption Regulations Exist in Illinois?
Advertising: Only licensed agencies or individuals holding a license issued by the department may advertise for services they are legally qualified to perform. No individual or agency of any kind other than a licensed adoption agency can accept compensation for providing any adoption services. Tit. 225, § 10/12
Relinquishment: A birth mother must wait at least 72 hours after birth to give consent for adoption. Fathers can consent before birth, but may revoke a consent given before birth up to 72 hours after birth. All other types of consent are irrevocable unless proved in court they came under fraud or duress. After 1 year from the date of giving consent no consent can be revoked for any reason. Ch. 750, § 50/9
Birth parent expenses: Prospective adoptive parents may pay medical and hospital fees in connection with the pregnancy. They may also give a gift or gifts not to exceed $200 in value to the birth parents.
Additionally, prospective adoptive parents can pay reasonable living expenses (rent, food, maternity clothing) 120 days prior to the birth mother’s expected delivery date but no more than 60 days after the birth of the child. Living expenses can only be paid if prospective adoptive parents receive approval from the court, and the total amount cannot exceed $1000 unless approved by the court to do so. Ch. 720, § 5/12C-70(c)-(d)
Birth father rights: Unmarried fathers wishing to receive notice of adoption proceedings may register their information with the Putative Father Registry. Ch. 750 § 50/12.1
Post-adoption contact agreements: Contact agreements in Illinois are not legally enforceable.
Finalization: Out of 1,591 adoptions completed in 2014, the average time between termination of parental rights and adoption finalization was 19.2 months.
Review Illinois adoption laws in detail.
Is Adoption Assistance Available in Illinois?
Many of the children waiting to be adopted in Illinois have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Illinois, monthly payments range from $361-445 depending upon your child’s age. For more information please visit NACAC.org.
Can I adopt a Child from another country?
It is always possible to adopt a child from another country, even if you live in the United States. Children under 18 adopted from a Hague Convention country entering the U.S. with an IH-3 visa may automatically receive U.S. citizenship.
Children adopted from a non convention country must qualify as orphans before receiving U.S. citizenship. When U.S. citizens finalize an adoption abroad, they must apply to the USCIS for an IR-3 visa for the child. An IR-3 visa classifies the child as an immigrant and provides the child with citizenship upon arrival in the States.
Illinois currently gives full effect and recognition to adoptions completed abroad when the adoption is completed in compliance with the child’s home country laws and U.S. laws. In addition, post placement investigators are required to visit the home to ensure the adoptive family is meeting the child’s needs. Illinois accepts a recognition of a foreign adoption decree when adoptive parents file to receive a U.S. birth certificate for their child.
Adoptions in Illinois can be completed through the Department of Children and Family Services.
Applicants can be single, married, or divorced. Parents must complete a home study. The home must have adequate space for everyone. Only licensed agencies/individuals holding a license issued by the department may advertise for services they are legally qualified to perform.
Birth mothers must wait 72 hours after birth to give consent. Fathers can consent before birth, but may revoke a consent given before birth up to 72 hours after birth. All other types of consent are irrevocable unless proved in court they came under fraud or duress.
Prospective adoptive parents may pay medical, hospital, and living expenses. Unmarried fathers wishing to receive notice of adoption proceedings may register their information with the Putative Father Registry.
Contact agreements are not enforceable. In 2014, the average time between TPR and adoption finalization was 19.2 months.