Domestic Infant Adoptions can be completed through an adoption agency or adoption attorney. Click here for a directory of adoption service providers in Nebraska.
International Adoptions must be completed through adoption agency and/or attorney. Find an international adoption service provider here.
Foster Care Adoptions in Nebraska can be completed through the Department of Health and Human Services (402-471-9254).
The information contained on this website is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional legal advice. Always seek the advice of a licensed and qualified professional. While the content of this website is frequently updated, information changes rapidly and therefore, some information may be out of date, and/or contain inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors.
Can I Adopt in Nebraska?
Applicants can be single, married, or divorced. You can own or rent a home, so long as the home is big enough for an additional child. Parents need to be of majority age, and if a couple, both need to be licensed by the department to adopt a child. All applicants must submit health information stating that they are in good physical and mental health. Adoption agencies may request a health exam be submitted from a licensed physician if they feel a health problem exists in the applicant. 3 character references must be submitted with the application, and not more than 1 can be related to the hopeful adoptive parents. Adoption licenses can be revoked if any member residing in the home engages in dangerous behavior compromising the safety of the adopted child. Parents must submit a criminal background check and complete a home study. For a more complete list of licensing requirements click here.
What Adoption Regulations Exist in Nebraska?
Advertising: Except as noted in the Nebraska Indian Child Welfare Act, no person other than a parent may advertise a child for placement unless licensed by the Department of Health and Human Services to do so. No person shall place, assist in placing, or give custody of the child to another person unless licensed by the department. § 43-701
Relinquishment: Written consent cannot be signed until at least 48 hours after the birth of the child. § 43-104
Post-adoption contact agreements: The department determines if a post-adoption contact agreement is in the child’s best interest. Contact agreements involve birth and adoptive parents, and are good for up to 2 years. At that time the agreement can be renewed. Parties in a contact agreement may bring suit in court for the enforcement of any agreement entered into and approved by the court. When determining whether or not to approve a contact agreement, the court considers first the needs of the child. §§ 43-160; 43-162; 43-165: 43-155; 43-156; 43-157; 43-158
Birth father rights: Putative fathers wishing to receive notice of adoption proceedings may file with the Department of Health and Human services. Additionally, the birth mother and father may at the time of birth file a written voluntary acknowledgement of paternity. § 43-104.01
Finalization: Out of 449 adoptions completed in 2014, the average time between TPR and adoption finalization was 9.7 months. (acf.hhs.gov)
Is Adoption Assistance Available in Nebraska?
Many of the children waiting to be adopted in Nebraska have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Nebraska, the maximum daily amount ranges between $20-40. For more information please visit NACAC.org.
Can I adopt a Child from another country?
It is always possible to adopt a child from another country, even if you live in the United States. Children under 18 adopted from a Hague Convention country entering the U.S. with an IH-3 visa may automatically receive U.S. citizenship.
Children adopted from a non convention country must qualify as orphans before receiving U.S. citizenship. When U.S. citizens finalize an adoption abroad, they must apply to the USCIS for an IR-3 visa for the child. An IR-3 visa classifies the child as an immigrant and provides the child with citizenship upon arrival in the States.
In Nebraska hopeful adoptive parents wishing to receive a State birth certificate for their child must submit a validation or readoption of foreign adoption decree.
Gallery of children waiting to be adopted: https://adoption.com/photolisting?page=1&search_type=region&range=UnitedStates
State subsidy contact person:
Department of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall, South 3rd Floor
Lincoln, NE 68509
402-471-9333 • Fax: 402-471-9034
Adoptions in Nebraska can be completed through the Department of Health and Human Services.
You can be single, married or divorced. You must be of majority age. Many adoption agencies require 3 professional references to be submitted. Parents must complete PRIDE training as well as an adoption home study.
No person other than a parent may advertise a child for placement unless licensed by the Department of Health and Human Services to do so.
Written consent cannot be signed until at least 48 hours after the birth of the child. Contact agreements are legally enforceable in Nebraska. A paternity registry exists for unmarried fathers to register their information and receive notice of adoption proceedings.
The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 9.7 months.