Advertise on Adoption.com
Home > Local > Vermont Adoption

ADOPTION IN
Vermont
Vermont

Domestic Infant Adoptions can be completed through an adoption agency or adoption attorney. Click here to connect with an adoption professional.

International Adoptions must be completed through an adoption agency or adoption attorney. You can learn more about international adoption here.

Foster Care Adoptions in Vermont can be completed through the Department for Children and Families (802-241-2131).

Gallery of children waiting to be adopted.

Join the New England adoption group in our community!

The information contained on this website is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional legal advice. Always seek the advice of a licensed and qualified professional. While the content of this website is frequently updated, information changes rapidly and therefore, some information may be out of date, and/or contain inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors.


 

Can I Adopt in Vermont?

You must be at least 21 years old to adopt. You can be single, married, or divorced. There must be sufficient room in the house to support a child and steady income to support the family. For more information contact your DCF district office.

 

What Adoption Regulations Exist in Vermont?

Advertising: Parents looking to place a minor for adoption may do so only with prospective adoptive parents who have valid favorable preplacement evaluations. Parents can be assisted by someone to help them find children available for adoption or parents looking to adopt. § 2-102(a)-(d); 2-105(c); 7-105(a)

 

Relinquishment: Parents must wait until 36 hours after the child’s birth to give their consent. Consent becomes final and irrevocable 21 days after execution unless obtained by fraud or duress. § 2-404; 2-407; 2-408; 2-409

 

Birth parent expenses: The following expenses are permitted: medical, hospital, pharmaceutical, counseling, lving, legal, transportation, and other services the court finds reasonable. Payments for living expenses may not continue for more than 6 weeks after birth. § 7-103(a)

 

Post-adoption contact agreements: Contact agreements are only enforceable in the case of stepparent adoptions when the court finds that enforcement is in the best interests of a child. § 1-109; 4-112

 

Birth father rights: While no paternity registry exists, unmarried fathers are served a notice of hearing on the adoption petition. Alleged fathers then have 20 days to file a claim of paternity before losing the ability to receive further notice of adoption proceedings and appear in court. § 3-503; 3-403; tit. 15B, § 701

Finalization: The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 7.8 months.

Review Vermont adoption laws in detail.

 

Is Adoption Assistance Available in Vermont?

Many of the children waiting to be adopted in Vermont have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Vermont, the maximum monthly amount ranges from $522-826. For more information on adoption assistance please visit NACAC.org.

 

Can I adopt a Child from another country?

It is always possible to adopt a child from another country, even if you live in the United States. Children under 18 adopted from a Hague Convention country entering the U.S. with an IH-3 visa may automatically receive U.S. citizenship.

 

Children adopted from a non convention country must qualify as orphans before receiving U.S. citizenship. When U.S. citizens finalize an adoption abroad, they must apply to the USCIS for an IR-3 visa for the child. An IR-3 visa classifies the child as an immigrant and may provide the child with citizenship upon arrival in the States.

 

Vermont gives full effect and recognition to an adoption finalized abroad in compliance with US and international law. Parents wishing to receive a State birth certificate for their child must submit documentation of readoption or validation of a foreign adoption.

 

State Contacts

 

Gallery of children waiting to be adopted: https://adoption.com/photolisting?page=1&search_type=state&range=50

 

State subsidy contact:

Gillie Hopkins

Permanency Planning Manager

Department for Children and Families

Family Services Division

Building HC1 North

Waterbury, VT 05671

Phone: 802-241-0891

Email: Gillie.Hopkins@vermont.gov

 

 

Summary

Adoptions in Vermont can be completed through the Department for Children and Families.

 

You must be at least 21 years old to adopt. You can be single, married, or divorced. There must be sufficient room in the house to support a child and steady income to support the family.

 

Parents can be assisted by someone to help them find children available for adoption or parents looking to adopt. Parent’s must wait 36 hours after their child’s birth before giving consent. Consent becomes irrevocable 21 days after execution unless obtained by fraud or duress.

 

The following expenses are permitted: medical, hospital, pharmaceutical, counseling, lving, legal, transportation, and other services the court finds reasonable. Contact agreements are only legally enforceable in the case of stepparent adoptions. Unmarried fathers may take alternate steps to establish paternity.

 

The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 7.8 months.

Host: www2