Advertise on Adoption.com
Home > Local > Alabama Adoption

ADOPTION IN
Alabama
Alabama

Domestic Infant Adoptions can be completed through an adoption agency or adoption attorney. Click here for a directory of adoption service providers in Alabama.

International Adoptions must be completed through an accredited adoption agency. Find an international adoption service provider here.

Foster Care Adoptions can be completed through the Alabama Department of Human Resources (866-425-5437).

Gallery of children waiting to be adopted.

Join the Alabama adoption group in our community!
The information contained on this website is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional legal advice. Always seek the advice of a licensed and qualified professional. While the content of this website is frequently updated, information changes rapidly and therefore, some information may be out of date, and/or contain inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors.


 

Can I Adopt in Alabama?

Individuals hoping to adopt a child in Alabama need to be at least 19 or older. Your income must be high enough to support a family. Hopeful parents will also need a physician's note stating they are physically able to support a child. Along with being in good health, the home must pass a home safety inspection. If married, you must be married for at least 1 year. Successful CPR certification for adults and children is also required.

 

What Adoption Regulations Exist in Alabama?

Advertising: It is unlawful for any person or entity in Alabama to advertise through print, electronic media, word of mouth, or any other source. While adoption facilitators (agency or individual) are allowed in Alabama, they can only receive payment for actual legal or medical expenses. § 26-10A-34

 

Relinquishment: Consent to the adoption can be given at any time before or after birth; however, it may be withdrawn 5 days after birth, or 5 days after signing, whichever comes last. Parents may revoke consent only if the court finds that the revocation is in the child’s best interest within 14 days after the birth of the child or 14 days after signing consent, whichever comes later. After the final adoption decree, consent can only be revoked if the signing of consent came under fraud or duress. After 1 year has passed since the adoption became final, consent can only be revoked in cases of kidnapping. § 26-10A-13

 

Birth Parent Expenses: The adoptive parents may pay medical, hospital, and living expenses that are connected to the pregnancy.

§ 26-10A-34(a)

 

Post-adoption Contact Agreement: These agreements are not legally enforceable in Alabama.

 

Finalization: The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 11.2 months.

 

Review Alabama adoption laws in detail.

 

Is Adoption Assistance Available in Alabama?

Many of the children waiting in foster care to be adopted in Alabama have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Alabama, children with special needs may qualify for up to $500 a month depending upon the age of the child. A special rate not to exceed $1,000 a month exists for children with extraordinary needs. Visit NACAC.org for more information.

 

Can I adopt a Child from another country?

Yes. In Alabama, parents can adopt a child from a different country, and the courts in Alabama will recognize the adoption as though the decree was issued by a court in Alabama.

 

State Contacts

Gallery of children waiting to be adopted: https://adoption.com/photolisting?page=1&search_type=state&range=2

 

State subsidy contact person:

Michael Jordan

Department of Human Resources (DHR)

50 N. Ripley Street

Montgomery, AL 36130

Phone: 334-242-9500

Fax: 334-242-0939

 

Summary

Adoptions in Alabama can be completed through the Alabama Department of Human Resources.

 

Parents need to be at least 19 or older. Your income must be high enough to support a family. Applicants will need a physician's note stating they are physically able to support a child. Parents need to complete a home study.

 

It is unlawful for any person or entity in Alabama to advertise through print, electronic media, word of mouth, or any other source. Consent to the adoption can be made at any time before or after birth, except that it may be withdrawn 5 days after birth, or 5 days after signing consent, whichever comes last.

 

Adoptive parents may pay medical, hospital, and living expenses that are connected to the pregnancy. Contact agreements are not legally enforceable.

The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 11.2 months.

Host: www2