Can I Adopt in Alaska?
Hopeful adoptive parents must be at least 18 in order to adopt, 21 in order to become a foster parent. Parents can be single, married, or divorced. While there is no income requirement, parents need to have enough income to provide stability for the family. Parents can own a home or rent, as long as they pass a home study. Adults in the home 18 or older will have to pass a background check.
What Adoption Regulations Exist in Alaska?
Advertising: No laws prohibit the use of advertising or adoption facilitators in Alaska.
Relinquishment: Required consent to the adoption can be given any time after the birth of the child. Parents can revoke consent before the final adoption decree, up to 10 days after giving consent. After this period 10 day period, consent can only be revoked by a court order finding the withdrawal to be in the best interest of the child.
Birth Parent Expenses: Adoptive parents may pay expenses to cover the birth of the child, medical or hospital care during the prenatal phase, and any other service in connection with the adoption.
Post-adoption Contact Agreements: While birth parents may enter into a voluntary agreement with adoptive parents establishing the amount of contact after finalization, these agreements are not legally enforceable in Alaska.
Finalization: While no specific post-placement requirements exist, adoptions in the year 2014 took on average 9 months between termination of parental rights and adoption finalization.
Review Alaska adoption laws in detail.
Is Adoption Assistance Available in Alaska?
Many of the children waiting to be adopted in Alaska have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Alaska, payments range from $25-53 per day. A special rate for children with extraordinary needs is available. For more information contact NACAC.org.
Can I adopt a Child from another country?
Yes. In Alaska, parents can adopt a child from a different country, and the courts in Alaska will recognize the adoption as though the decree was issued by a court in Alaska.
Gallery of children waiting to be adopted: https://adoption.com/photolisting?page=1&range=UnitedStates&search_type=region
State subsidy contact person:
Adoption Program Coordinator
Resource Family Section
State of Alaska Office of Children’s Services (OCS)
Dept. of Health & Social Services (DHHS)
P.O. Box 110630
Juneau, AK 99811
907-465-3209 • fax: 907-465-2061
Adoptions in Alaska can be completed through the Office of Children’s Services.
Parents must be at least 18 to adopt, 21 to foster. Parents can be single, married, or divorced. Parents need to have enough income to provide stability for the family. Applicants must complete a hume study.
Consent to the adoption can be given any time after the birth of the child. Parents can revoke consent up to 10 days after giving consent. After this period 10 day period, consent can only be revoked by a court order finding the withdrawal to be in the best interest of the child.
The following expenses are permitted: birth, medical, hospital care during the prenatal phase, and any other service in connection with the adoption.
Contact agreements are not legally enforceable. The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 9 months.