Advertising: Only licensed adoption agencies and Louisiana-based crisis pregnancy centers are permitted to advertise that they will adopt or assist in the adoption of children. The payment of anything of value for a voluntary surrender of a child for adoption is prohibited. § 46:1425(A)-(C)
Relinquishment: For agency adoptions, birth mothers must wait until 3 days after the birth of their child to give consent. For private adoptions, mothers must wait 5 days after birth to give consent. The father may consent at any time before or after birth, but any surrender executed before the 5th day after birth is revocable in court until after the 5th day of the child's birth. Alleged or adjudicated fathers may revoke before or after birth, but once consent is given it is irrevocable regardless of when it was given. Except what has been previously written, consent is irrevocable upon execution and acceptance by the court. Consent can only be revoked if proved in court that consent came under fraud or duress. (Children’s Code 1122(b)(1); 1123; 1130; 1147; 1195)
Birth parent expenses: Adoptive parents may reimburse birth parents for the following expenses: reasonable medical expenses (hospital, testing, nursing, travel, prenatal care), medical expenses prior to decree of adoption, counseling services for reasonable time before and after child’s placement, Statement of Family History expenses, living expenses not beyond 45 days after birth, attorney fees, and any other fees the court finds reasonable. (Children's Code 1200)
Post-adoption contact agreements: Contact agreements must be signed by both adoptive and birth parents and in writing to be legally enforceable. In agency adoptions where the agency is the custodian for the child, contact agreements may be established with the child’s family under the following two conditions: the child has established a significant relationship with the person, and the loss of this relationship would cause harm to the child; the preservation of the relationship is in the child’s best interest. The court decides if the agreement is in the best interests of the child. Agreements are only legally enforceable if filed in court. (Children’s Code 1269.1-1269.8)
Birth father rights: The Department of Health and Hospitals oversees the putative father registry that records the name and address of the following individuals: adjudicated fathers in LA and other states, any person who has filed an acknowledgement of paternity, any person who files a judgement of filiation. Those who are on file with the putative father registry receive notice of adoption proceedings. RS § 9:400
Finalization: Out of 621 adoptions completed in 2014, the average time between TPR and adoption finalization was 9.8 months. (acf.hhs.gov)
Review Louisiana adoption laws in detail.