Domestic Infant Adoptions can be completed through an adoption agency or adoption attorney. Click here for a directory of adoption service providers in Texas.
International Adoptions must be completed through an adoption agency or adoption attorney. Find an international adoption service provider here.
Foster Care Adoptions in Texas can be completed through the Department of Family and Protective Services.
The information contained on this website is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional legal advice. Always seek the advice of a licensed and qualified professional. While the content of this website is frequently updated, information changes rapidly and therefore, some information may be out of date, and/or contain inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors.
Can I Adopt in Texas?
Parents must be at least 21 years old to adopt. You must be financially stable. You must provide family and non-family references. You can be single, married, or divorced. Parents must submit to a home study.
What Adoption Regulations Exist in Texas?
Advertising: Licensed adoption agencies may advertise for the services they provide. A person commits an offence if they advertise in public media that they will place a child for adoption or provide a child for adoption. § 25.09
Relinquishment: Parents must wait at least 48 hours after the birth of their child to give their consent. Consent can be revoked at any time before the final adoption order in court. § 161.103; 161.106; 161.1035; 162.011
Birth parent expenses: The following expenses are permitted: attorney, social worker, mental health professional, counseling fees; legal or medical fees for the benefit of the child; necessary pregnancy related expenses. § 25.08(b)
Post-adoption contact agreements: Contact agreements are only enforceable when the party seeking enforcement proves before filing a motion that mediation was attempted to solve the dispute but failed. § 161.2061
Birth father rights: Unmarried fathers wishing to receive notice of adoption proceedings may file their information with the Bureau of Vital Statistics’ paternity registry no later than 31 days after the birth of the child. § 160.401; 160.402
Finalization: The average time between TPR and adoption finalization in 2014 was 15.6 months.
Is Adoption Assistance Available in Texas?
Many of the children waiting to be adopted in Texas have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Texas, the basic monthly amount starts at $400 and can be negotiated with the state. For more information on adoption assistance please visit NACAC.org.
Can I adopt a Child from another country?
It is always possible to adopt a child from another country, even if you live in the United States. Children under 18 adopted from a Hague Convention country entering the U.S. with an IH-3 visa may automatically receive U.S. citizenship.
Children adopted from a non convention country must qualify as orphans before receiving U.S. citizenship. When U.S. citizens finalize an adoption abroad, they must apply to the USCIS for an IR-3 visa for the child. An IR-3 visa classifies the child as an immigrant and may provide the child with citizenship upon arrival in the States.
Texas gives full effect and recognition to adoptions finalized abroad in compliance with U.S. and international law. Readoption is an option but not a requirement in Texas. Parents wishing to receive a US state birth certificate for their child must submit a readoption or validation of a foreign adoption decree.
Gallery of children waiting to be adopted: https://adoption.com/photolisting?page=1&search_type=state&range=48
State subsidy contact person:
Dept. of Family and Protective Services (DFPS)
PO Box 149030, Mail Code Y-934
Austin, TX 78714-9030
512-919-7965; Fax: 512-339-5927
Adoptions in Texas can be completed through the Department of Family and Protective Services.
Parents must be at least 21 years old. Applicants must be financially stable, provide references, and complete a home study.
Licensed adoption agencies may advertise for the services they provide. Parents must wait at least 48 hours after the birth of their child to give their consent to an adoption. Consent can be revoked at any time before the final adoption order in court.
The following birth parent expenses are permitted: health professionals, legal fees, medical fees, and necessary pregnancy fees. A paternity registry does exist for unmarried fathers to receive notice of adoption proceedings.
The average time between termination of parental rights and adoption finalization in 2014 was 15.6 months.