Advertise on Adoption.com
Home > Local > Georgia Adoption

ADOPTION IN
Georgia
Georgia

Domestic Infant Adoptions can be completed through adoption agencies or attorneys.

International Adoptions must be completed through adoption agencies or attorneys.

Foster Care Adoptions in Georgia can be completed through the Department of Family and Children Services (877-210-5437).

Gallery of children waiting to be adopted.

Join the Georgia adoption group in our community!

The information contained on this website is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional legal advice. Always seek the advice of a licensed and qualified professional. While the content of this website is frequently updated, information changes rapidly and therefore, some information may be out of date, and/or contain inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors.


 

Can I Adopt in Georgia?

Applicants can be single, married, or divorced. If single, a parent needs to be at least 25 years old and 10 years older than the child. If married, both parents need to be 10 years older than the child. You must be a Georgia resident for at least 6 months before applying to adopt a child. Parents need to pass a home safety check, criminal background check, medical examination, and provide a list of professional references. Applicants must complete a 23 hour service orientation. This is part of the home study process. Foster parents are required to have a GA license. For more information on the adoption process, please visit the DFCS website.

 

What Adoption Regulations Exist in Georgia?

Advertising: Only licensed child placing agencies within the state of Georgia may adopt or arrange for a child to be adopted. It is unlawful for any person or organization to offer anything of value to the birth parents in exchange for placement of their child. § 19-8-24(a)

 

Relinquishment: Consent may be executed any time after the birth of the child. Birth parents have 10 days from the signing of consent to withdraw their surrender of parental rights. § 19-8-5 , 19-8-9(b)

 

Birth parent expenses: Hopeful adoptive parents may reimburse the birth mother for medical expenses directly related to the birth of the child.

§ 19-8-24(a)(2)

Post-adoption contact agreements: Contact agreements are not legally enforceable in Georgia.

 

Birth father rights: Unmarried fathers wishing to receive notice of adoption proceedings can file a paternity acknowledgement form with the Department of Public Health.

 

Finalization: Out of the 854 adoptions completed in 2014, the average time between termination of parental rights and adoption finalization was 13 months. (acf.hhs.gov)

 

Review Georgia adoption laws in detail.

 

Is Adoption Assistance Available in Georgia?

Many of the children waiting to be adopted in Georgia have special needs. Federal (Title IV-E) and state (non-IV-E) programs exist to help adoptive parents meet their child’s needs. In Georgia, monthly payments range from $440-480, depending upon your child’s age. Please visit NACAC.org for more information on adoption subsidies within Georgia.

 

Can I adopt a Child from another country?

It is always possible to adopt a child from another country, even if you live in the U.S. Children under 18 adopted from a Hague Convention country entering the U.S. with an IH-3 visa automatically receive U.S. citizenship.

 

Children adopted from a non-convention country must qualify as orphans before receiving U.S. citizenship. When U.S. citizens finalize an adoption abroad, they must apply to the USCIS for an IR-3 visa for the child. An IR-3 visa classifies the child as an immigrant and provides the child with citizenship upon arrival in the U.S.

 

The immigration process varies for intercountry adoptions that are finalized after the child arrives in the States. Georgia currently gives full recognition to adoptions completed abroad, so long as the laws of the country and U.S. were followed. While readoption in Georgia is not required, in order for your child to receive a U.S. birth certificate parents must submit either readoption or validation of a foreign adoption documents to the courts.

 

State Contacts

 

Gallery of children waiting to be adopted: https://adoption.com/photolisting?page=1&search_type=state&range=12

 

State subsidy contact person:

Mr. Adrian J. Owens

DHS/Social Services Administration Unit

2 Peachtree St. NW, Ste. 8-400

Atlanta, GA 30303

Phone: 404-657-3558

Fax: 404-463-3735

Email: ajowens@dhr.state.ga.us

 

 

Summary

Adoptions in Georgia can be completed through the Department of Family and Children Services.

 

Applicants can be single, married, or divorced. If single, a parent needs to be at least 25 years old and 10 years older than the child. If married, both parents need to be 10 years older than the child. You must be a Georgia resident for at least 6 months. Parents must pass a home study.

 

Only licensed child placing agencies within the state of Georgia may adopt or arrange for a child to be adopted. Consent may be executed any time after birth of the child. Birth parents have 10 days from executing consent to revoke.

 

Only medical expenses directly related to the birth of the child are permitted. Contact agreements are not legally enforceable.

 

Unmarried fathers wishing to receive notice of adoption proceedings can file a paternity acknowledgement form.

Host: www1