Advertisements
Advertisements
I'm just beginning the adoption process, and I'm trying to get some idea of how long I can expect the homestudy process to take. Would anyone like to share their experience? I plan to adopt from foster care using a public agency.
I am sure you got this figured out by now, but the home study is really not a big deal. They give you a list of what paperwork they need, look around the house. check smoke detectors, fire safety, etc. Not a big deal at all. They mostly are checking for running water, electricity, etc.
Advertisements
By the way, I am a single mom too, just starting the adoption process. Let me know where you stand. Would love to meet another single mom going through the system. I actually wanted just to foster. When it came time for the Termination of rights and they wanted an adoptive resource I panicked because I knew I could not let him go. I asked for them to give me some time to think things over. I did, and it came down to the fact that I could not see life without him. :)