Advertisements
Advertisements
I am a Pre-K teacher, as well as a parent. A few weeks ago DD was sick with strep over a 3 day weekend and it extended 2 days into our shorter work week. The diretor of our daycare actually expected me to come in while she was still running fever and contagious with strep.
Our child care licensing handbook says that children with strep are only allowed to return to school 24hrs after antibiotics have begun.
They wanted me to come into work as soon as we got from the doctor. Her prescription hadn't been filled, yet. I told my boss that she wasn't on antibiotics, she still had a fever and I would be in after she was fever free without medication and after her antibiotics had been in her system for 24 hrs, just like we require of the children in our care.
------------------------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------
Last week, a student of mine, who has a history of asthma, had been out a couple of days with asthma.
When he returned to school, his parent asked me to call them if he had any trouble breathing, so she could get him stronger medicine.
After giving the child his nebulizer and his steroid, his breathing was calm for about 20 minutes. He then started gasping for air. I called his mom ASAP.
When mom showed up, the assistant director was in her face trying to find out why she was there, who called her and told me she's sure it wasn't as bad as I was making it sound.:grr:
Mom ended up having to rush him to the hospital. The AD called our director, who still had not arrived at work at 230 and told her I called the child's mom.
The dirctor then said she was writing me up because I didn't call her before calling the mom! She then ranted and raved about there not being a need for us to call the mom because we have his meds at school. I told her that I had given him his meds, they were not working, mom had told me to call her if his symptoms got worse and I did as the parent wished. I did not back down.