Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi All,
I am new to the adoption community and I am a HUGE MESS! So, now I'm here with other people who have probably gone through as much crap and mental/emotional instability as I have and are on their quest to anwser questions just as I have started.
You guys are so great and so non-judgemental...
I am an extremely "sexully needy" person. (for lack of better words) I'm abnormally needy compared to my friends.
Are there any other adoptees who find themselves promiscuous, or find themselves in crazy sexual situations in which you know they're wrong but you do it anyway and for that moment, you do enjoy it? I'm embarassed by it, but I don't do anything about it.
Thanks,
Robin
I don't specifically have that situation, but I would think that a sexual addiction is probably like any other addiction. It may be a way to avoid pain and numb yourself a bit.
There was a time in my life where I was getting into relationships that weren't healthy for me. I had the adoptee way of thinking -- I should be glad for anything I get. I've worked through that (with counseling) and found a nice, supportive man. I had to ready for him, though. If he would've come into my life years earlier, I wouldn't have been ready yet. Maybe there's a sexual addict's meeting by where you live that you could consider dropping by, even if it's just to see that you're not alone.
Elaine
Advertisements