Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello, I am a journalist with the Canadian Broadcast Corporation. On November 1, Albertans will be able to access identifying info contained in adoption records. Is there anyone out there who will be doing this?
Hi
Yes the records will become open for those adoptees born in Alberta and for birthmothers that gave birth in Alberta and surrendered the child for adoption -------provided a veto hasn't been filed by the other party to prohibit the release of identifying information.
As the application for release of identifying information has been online for a couple of months now (on the Post Adoption Registry~Government site), many adoptees and birthmothers/birthfathers have already completed the form and mailed it in.
They won't start working on the files until November.....and imagine they have hundreds upon hundreds of correspondence to attend to.
~Shannon
Advertisements
Hello
My name is Kathy Sim Seguin and I am a foster parent in Edmonton. I currently look after 3 children for the Alberta gov't. I have a friend who is adopted and has been trying to find her birth parents. I think she might be interested in your offer.
Please contact me if your interested in getting in touch with Brenda.
Here are my contact numbers.
info@edmontonvirtualtours.com
I can not express to you how happy this change in the adoption registry has made me. All these years of "unnattachment" so to speak, has been the burden of my life as I know it. Not that my story is any more signifigant or special than other adoptees searching, however it is special in it's own way. I am distraught and besided myself to tell you that history has repeated itself in the most ironic way. I'm ready to talk about it now.......