Advertisements
Advertisements
I have been fostering a young boy (age 3) for three months and his behavior is deteriorating. I am especially concerned over his cruelty to animals- kicking, hitting, etc. Also, he will continue to ask the same question over and over, even if you answer him. He does not seem developmentally delayed in other areas, but has definitely not outgrown the terrible twos and time outs are doing no good! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Sounds like he has attachment disorder behaviors. These are classic signs. Is he in therapy? He needs attachment therapy. Be sure the therapist is aware of attachment based therapy because other types will not work. Time outs will not work with these children. They want to get away from you and therefore time outs are what they want and they will continue with the behavior that got them there. This is not the terrible twos. Please look into appropriate therapy for him, otherwise he will not heal and will get worse.
Advertisements
RE: same question over and over...
Our 3-yr-old (almost 4) does that, too. I finally turned the tables on her and asked HER the same question she had been asking me (ex: "Where are we going, L? L, where are we going? Where are we going? Where are we going, L?"), so that she was forced to answer it herself over and over. This has become a "game," and it distracts her enough that she "forgets" to keep asking the irritating question.
jenf,
my seven year old asks the same questions over and over and over, too. I, too, have turned the tables on her and asked her the same question over and over and over. He understands my frustrations and we get a good laugh. Down side: I have had to turn the tables on him many, many times; and he still displays this behavior. A book you might get some insight from is: The Emotional Life of a Toddler; it explains a lot of behavior displayed by RAD kids. Peace.