Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi! I am a German citizen, living in the US with my husband who is a US citizen. I am a permanent resident of the US (I have a green card). We are in the process of preparing our dossier and our adoption worker is trying to figure out how to get my German birth certificate authenticated / apostilled. She called the German Consulate and they told her she would have to contact the American Embassy in Germany. HUH??????? That didn't make any sense to either one of us.
Has anyone here adopted from Guatemala who was like me not a US citizen, but living in the US? Can you give me any advice?
Thanks!
Nicole
I think I'm "bumping" this correctly.
I'd love to hear more since my DH is Canadian and I'm the Citizen.
Anyone have the added complication of 2 foreign birth certs? That is where we are now...
Advertisements
Mommy2twins - that won't work I don't think, my agency orginally did the same thing but I found out from the Listserv that I had to do one of the two options that Becky had listed in the previous post.
I chose to do the UK route, but next time for sure I would send it via the Assistant Stork...
Good luck
I am copying the directions for 'what to do' with a Canadian birth certificate. These are about a year old, so the names/fees might not be correct...definitely call before mailing anything.
First you mail your certificate to:
Mario Nunez-Suarez
Legal Advisory Division (JLAC)
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa K1AOG2 ONTARIO
CANADA
613-995-0119
Mr Nunez-Suarez is certifying that the document is legal and correct. The fee has always been free, but call first to be sure.
Then you can also request that they forward the documents to the Guatemalan embassy for you.
Sr. Lic. Carlos Humberto Jimenez Licona
Embajador Extraordinario y Plenipotenciario
130 Albert Street Suite 1010
Ottawa K1P 5G4 ONTARIO
CANADA
613-233-7188
613-230-0135 fax
email: embaguate@webruler.com
$10.00 per document