Advertisements
Advertisements
We have two sons - 8 years old (international adoption) and 5.5 years old (bio) - and are just barely starting the process to get custody of (and possibly adopt) my cousin's granddaughter. Child is 19 months old and bmom is currently 16. When they entered the foster system - about a year ago, bmom & child were placed in the same foster home. A couple of months ago, bmom was moved to a different home due to an injury to the child. A couple of weeks ago bmom took off with some guy and didn't come back for almost a week. There is now talk of possibly terminating her parental rights.
I am really new to this so any info would be great and please ask whatever questions you need to if I didn't clarify anything well enough. Child's fparents are interested in adopting her as well. Although we have had visits with the child, we haven't made any effort to take custody because bmom & child were together & we hoped that she'd straighten up and be able to keep her child.
Child's SW is supposed to be sending us a relative home study packet to get started on, although I suspect that the state is going to move slowly on this because they would like the foster family to retain custody. All of the family members who have any involvement in the child's life want her to be placed with us and we have always been interested in parenting her if her mother was unable to.
My questions... What can I expect the process to look like? Will there be someone that will be a resource for us (besides child's SW) in order to answer our questions & guide us through the process? Does anyone know what is involved in a relative home study? Would it be better to get licensed as foster parents (financially speaking)?
Thank you for any & all help! :)
twoboystoofun