Advertisements
Advertisements
I don't know how else to do this though! E really does rule the house and it was cute but he clearly has a very strong/stubborn personality so letting him play with Daddy's ties or otherwise have his way won't serve him.
I feel really upset and defensive because I know I do indulge him a lot but I've never done this before and I want the world to feel like a magical place to him!
He is VERY nice and a GREAT sharer with other kids but with Mommy and Daddy it's true, he gets his way and can get a bit whiney/demanding.
I don't have anyone to help me with this so I'm reaching out to my A.com sisters for advice.
Do I want to be pulling things out of his hands all day saying "no?" or pick my battles? Obviously something that's not safe is always a no no but much of it really is curiousity (like Daddy's ties, he thinks he's helping him get dressed!)
What about picking him up? Getting a cookie? Playing with something specific? Just not sure how to have a happy kid who also isn't spoiled but I do NOT want a spoiled child. Any words of wisdom on this?
Kids NEED boundries and consequences from early on. This provides for them a sense of security. Children THRIVE on boundries and consequences.
Yes, pick your battles. But pick them wisely. Don't not say no to something b/c you don't want to deal with the tantrum or tears.
If your husband says no to the ties, then do not let him play with those and be a united front and say "mommy and daddy say no to the ties, lets find something else".
If you allow your child to "test" or "do" whatever he pleases for fear of making his childhood anything less than grand you are doing him a disservice. Once he gets into the real world where mom and dad can't be with him it will be culture shock.
Sounds like you are doing a GREAT job with him. You just need to outline some definete boundries and that means talking with dad about what he wants too.
GOOD LUCK MOMMY!!!:clap:
Advertisements