Advertisements
Advertisements
Thought this was interesting for those still deciding.
[URL="http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1211719/Why-teachers-single-pupils-called-Callum-Chelsea-Connor-Jack-troublemakers.html"]Why teachers single out pupils called Callum, Chelsea, Connor and Jack as troublemakers | Mail Online[/URL]
Oh, absolutely. I wouldn't change my name for nothing either! I just wish other people quit having such a problem with it. Sometimes they're like "why" do you pronounce or spell it like this. What kind of question is that? sheesh.
Advertisements
as a teacher, i totally understand. lol. my "bad" name is matthew. it was my absolute most favorite boys name in the whole world before i was a teacher. every freaking year i either had a matthew or there was one next door. either way, there was at least ONE VERY BAD matthew in my life every year i taught. like - worst student in my class- bad. i have never met a well behaved smart matthew. it ruined a perfectly good name for me.
however, there must be some really awesome matthew's out there i've never met for it to be on the "brightest boy" list.
i'm laughing right now that i am on the "naughtiest girl" list. lol.
Interesting article. As a teacher I do try to not make assumptions about a student based on the name they were given. Sometimes it is hard. Especially when you remember the last student you had named "x" was a holy terror.
I found it very difficult to name my children after I had been teaching several years. Every name my husband liked had a "bad- for lack of a better word" student attached to it. We finally did come up with names. My son is 13 and I had never had a student with his name until last year. OH BOY- if I had met this kid before I had my son I never would have picked that name.