Advertisements
Advertisements
I was born at Beulah home in 1947. My birthmother had a family emergency soon after I was born and left the home before she signed adoption papers. So I was kept in the home until Alberta Social Services took legal custody of me at the age of 6 months. I was adopted by Canadians living in the United States. Social services had records on me because no private adoption papers were signed. In 1996, at the age of 49, I finally tracked down my birthmother in the Turks & Caicos Islands in the Caribbean. We visit back and forth every year or so and have a wonderful relationship. I discovered that I have a half brother in Ottawa ON and we have a lot in common. I have been a probation officer most of my life and he has been on probation most of his life! I have returned to Graduate School and will be graduating with a Master of Divinity from ACTS Seminary next month. My adoptive parents are both deceased. But my real mom is coming out for my Graduation ceremony.
Five years after I was born my adoptive parents returned to Edmonton and were regularly involved with Beulah Home, which was a faith ministry of the Mennonite Brethren in Christ Church. Every Thursday they would pay their bills. It began with a prayer meeting asking for divine help and by the end of the day funds would come in: mostly from churches, but the Edmonton Rotary club was the main benefactor. I regularly visited Beulah home at the age of 6 and wondered why all those ladies had such bulging tummies. Mary Findlay (the widow of a missionary to Africa) was the director, and Enith Hunsberger was the accountant. Margrit Lee from the New Hebrides was the midwife and Reuben Ratzlaff was the custodian. I have kept in touch with all of them over the years, but they are all now gone to their reward. Beulah Home was taken over by the Alberta Ministry of Social Services in 1967 and the facility destroyed.