Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi all,
Hope I am posting in right forum, if not do not mind if you point me in right direction. I am a 30 y.o single woman who will begin my PRIDE classes next week. I have PCOS and did 2 IUIS w/ DS and it didn't work so I decided to try this route. I was really hoping to foster to adopt but CT doesn't have dual licenses so I have to either decide whether I want to foster and hope a child that I am fostering comes up for adoption or wait and hope I am matched with a child. I am looking for a sibling group. I would prefer a newborn and a child up to age 8 or so. I passed the initial home visit and was told I had plenty of room. It's just me and I own my own home. I have a masters in social work and have worked in the field so I am looking forward to this process and hope it doesnt take too long. I am still trying to make the decision whether I want to adopt or foster but all I know is I would like to share my life with children and I have the means to do so. Only thing I am hesitant about fostering is I get attached quite easily and would have a difficult time letting go so I am leaning towards the adoption route. Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated and I hope to learn a lot of from you all.
Wow! There's a lot in your post! It's so fun and exciting to be in your position- you should enjoy PRIDE.
My husband and I are only one step in front of you- we're waiting for our license and 1st placement.
I know that the "attach/de-attach" thing is hard to even think about, let alone do. I do know that with attachment, the better the initial attachment, the better the subsequent attachments will be. You should learn in PRIDE the reasons behind that. So, if you get a kid, you should work to attach to them- for their sake. Then, whether they go back home or to another family, they'll be able to attach to that family better because of the work you've done with them. Hope that made sense.