Advertisements
Advertisements
Im new to the sight and this is what i have been needing to help me get thru this adoption journey,
On september 20th My twin daughter's are turning 1.... It has been such a long hard year and this is such an emotional time for me right now. I have 3 children at home with me and the two girls ive placed, well the AP's have not invited my kids or I to the girl's first bday party and im so upset over this! not sure how im suppose to be dealing with this. I feel as if im not appriciated for all i gave up for another family to be happy, let alone if im even wanted around...Any advise or opinions on what to do? Thanks
Stephannie
Do you have an open adoption agreement? Have you had visits? Are your visits open with extended family/friends?
I have an open adoption agreement. We have two visits per year. I do not invite my son's bmom to birthday parties. It has nothing to do with not appreciating her or with not wanting her around.
Could you ask for an opportunity to celebrate the twins' birthday separately? Maybe suggest that the twins' siblings would like to share a cake?
Talk with the aparents if you can. Ask why - but don't just assume that it is a reflection on you personally.
Advertisements
I believe that c.a. (the previous poster) has given you some very wise advice. That's what I would do if I were in your shoes...ask the twins' parents if they would be willing to have a small celebration with you and their siblings.
Don't let this build up into a resentment because you'll only end up hurting yourself. Since you're in an open adoption, tell the aparents how important it is to you to be able to celebrate the babies' first birthday, and tell them how important it is for their siblings to be able to give them some gifts and share some birthday cake.
Good luck, hon. I hope it works out for you.