Advertisements
Advertisements
Hey guys Im somewhat new to all this and I have some questions. Im looking into trying and adopting a 12 yr old boy. How different is it between a regular adoption and adopting a child from a residential facility? I know how the facility works ive been employeed at one before. Also how much of a big deal is my age in being considered for fostering/adopting? Any information would be helpful! THANKS!
Welcome! I am not sure if you are a licensed foster parent yet, but if not, you will have to become one first. If you are already that is great- that is a big hurdle overcome. (I am assuming the child you mention is in foster care?)
If you are not a foster parent yet, you will have to take the STARS classes, which take about three months, and also have a homestudy completed. Then you must take the SPAULDING class which is a day and a half. You can take this class anytime though, even after the child has moved in with you. The entire homestudy process for us took about 4-5 months, but that can vary. The cost for all of this should very minimal, if any.
The child also has to be available for adoption or at least be legal risk, meaning the goal is adoption, but the parents rights haven't been terminated yet.
As far as adopting from a residential facility, the process itself is the same. However, you will want to make sure you have the full background information on the child. The team will want to make sure you feel you can meet his needs, if the team wants him to end up in a home. Every once in a while, it is determined that a residential facility is the best place for the child. But normally a home environment is the first choice, just depends on the case.