Advertisements
Advertisements
Need some insight---how do you handle a jealous birthfathers wife?
She is refusing to even speak to me and tells him this is "his problem to deal with"
Seems to be in denial of the situation--any ideas?
Murf,
I have a lot of experience with this (unfortunately). If you could give me some examples I could try and help.
Also, if you look at my profile you will see lots of examples...sigh.
I HIGHLY recommend the book "Coming Home to Self" by Nancy Verrier.
Kind regards,
Moonbeam
Advertisements
I just want to clarify-- I am not suggesting that the OP ignore the wife if the wife is in the room, or in any way escalate tension with her. And obviously if the wife is actively sabotaging the reunion (keeping dad from seeing his daughter, insisting on being in the room and being obnoxious the whole time, etc.) that's a different issue altogether.
But if she's just refusing to interact with OP and saying the reunion and it's emotional fallout are only her husband's to deal with-- then leaving her out of things might be best.
I hate to advise (unless absolutely unavoidable) an adoptee to change his or her personality/ desires to accommodate the unsympathetic whims of a person who is only tangentially related to the reunion, because that can be a very slippery slope. One minute you're making small concessions to accommodate them, then the next they are somehow calling all the shots in your reunion experience. Someone who begins a relationship with making lots of demands for accommodation usually comes up with more once those demands are met. I agree that, depending on the situation though, the OP may need to show a desire to accommodate the wife very early on, but only if it is absolutely necessary to maintain a relationship with the bdad.