Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi Everyone, I am new here.
I was adopted as an infant by a very kind family. They had previously adopted another boy, my brother. Not my birth brother. Sorry I am still learning the terms used in these forums.
Anyway, I was told that my mother was quite young, around 16 years old. This was in 1971, in I think it was Brandywine Hospital in Valley Township West Chester Pennsylvania.
The thing that always struck me as strange, is that my adoptive parents told us both the same story. That my older brother was also born to a very young mother, in the same hospital, a year and a half earlier.
If I forgot some details, please let me know, but it just always seemed strange to me that we came from the same place, a year and a half apart, both born to very young mothers. Me being blond haired and blue eyed, and him being brown haired and brown eyed.
It may be that they knew a doctor or someone who worked at that hospital who called them when they had a teen mom wanting to place.
Advertisements
Hey Jake,
Welcome!
Completely different era when mothers often had their doctors work with the county juvenile services to surrender their babies and the county would find homes. As to the same story - it is possible that it was the standard story told by the SW to the adopting parents, I've heard my personal story told by another adoptee from a different state but with the same demographics in the city of birth. Not a coincidence, rather, just stories created to make is all sound normal and okay.
Have you requested your non-identifying information from the state of PA? Are you interested? Do you know if a non-state agency was involved because if yes, they would also have non-id about you too.
Kind regards,
Dickons
Thanks everyone,