Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi! My name is Hannah Townley! I have been searching for about 4 months now for the right adoption agency - I am very new to this whole thing as I have never adopted before. I suppose I have kind of done things backwards, which may be why this is so difficult, none the less here is my situation...
I am from Redding, CA. There is an older child in foster care located in Portland, OR that my husband and I would like to adopt. I have gotten it confirmed that he is free to adopt and the case worker is accepting homestudies from every state. Where I am running into problems is finding an agency that will actually deal with an out-of-state adoption.
I have a seasonal job in Alaska which I will be going back to in April, my goal was to get the orientations and classes out of the way before I left for Alaska so that when I come back and purchase a house I could get the homestudy done, as I will not be going back to Alaska if I am adopting.
I have contacted an upward of 15 agencies, I am waiting on many emails from others. I have also attended my counties social service orientation for fostering. All I have talked to have told me they could not cater to an out-of-state adoption.
I am earnestly searching for an agency that would be able to make this happen for me! I dont want to get started with the process at one agency to ultimately find out that they will not send my homestudy to this boys caseworker. Does an agency like this actually exist in California?
I am also considering moving to Oregon to make this happen, very open to this as we have been considering it anyways. However, I feel like if I was to move back to California after the adoption would be finalized that would be kind of deceptive to the child - last thing I want to do. Should this even be an option?
Thank you for reading, any input would be great!