Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi there!
Thanks for taking the time to ready my thread. I have joined adoption.com in hopes of finding another adoptee who was the result of a "one night stand" or a "summer night's fling".
I was born in the 70's, the adoption was a closed one and I was fortunate to find my birthmom when I was 19. Now I'm a happily married Mom of two and family lineage has piqued my curiosity. I've been researching my birthfather for the last two years. Unfortunately my birthmother does not share or support me with this matter. My Husband and my Parents and friends are with me 100%. Last October I filed to have the government release my adoption records to me so that I may see the names and any other information that did not come with my parents adoption papers. Lucky enough these papers fell in my lap last week on my birthday. After examining them, they brought up many more questions. Childish as they may be I was hoping for answers. My one question was "Were my birth parents in a committed relationship? What was he like? (ie: personality and character) and much, much more. While trying to handle this delicately to her, she got angry and said I was the result of a one night stand. My birthmother is friendly and open about her life, this is the one topic she will not discuss. This is one part of her life that she has locked away and tossed away the key forever. This brings on thoughts of "Is my birthfather the right man?", "Was she raped or drugged?" (it was the 70's after all). I feel there is a major piece of information that I am missing and I'm not allowed to have it. Has any adoptee out there been in this same situation? Has any adoptee found their birthfather only to have a door slammed in their face? The birthmom says that he will deny me just like he did her and she's afraid I will be rejected. Amongst all these "warnings", it makes me want to contact my birthfather even more. I'm hoping someone out there knows what it's like to be in this situ