Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting here and I will try to keep it short! LOL!
We have a very open adoption with our 16month old son's birth family...maternal family & paternal family. We visit with them often and for the first year I sent pics and letters once a month. I have now started sending them every six months or if I get some developed or special occasions. (I hope that makes sense.)
I guess I should tell you that our son's Birth Grandmother (Paternal) was against the adoption...she wanted her and her husband to raise Ben, but Ben's birth father & Birth mother did not want that.
So, now for my question:D Lately she (the grandma) has been acting very posessive and very teary when she visits with us. Now, I have never, ever limited her contact with Ben...she can see him whenever as long as she calls first. I am trying to decide if being so open is hurting her more??? I know that there is no length in grieving time...but I am unsure of how to handle this. I find myself not wanting her to take him out for the afternoon...to McDonald's or whatever...because I am afraid she might run off with him or something. I guess I just want advice on how to handle her. I also have been doing some serious praying and soul searching trying to decide if maybe I am having some insecurity issues also. She has also "surprises" me by bringing her mother to visits with her. Her mother has made some statements in front of Ben that if he were older and could understand may hurt him.
Any suggestions, comments, support! LOL! Thanks for reading if you have gotten this far!
Stephanie