Advertisements
Advertisements
Hey all, I have been coming to this website off and on for a few months. i was looking for someone else that could relate and I found so many of you and tonight I found this forum about first nations.
I am legally considered "First Nations" here in canada. Some of you may have read my other posts in the following forum, well I can't find the forum so I search for info
[url="http://forums.adoption.com/showthread.php?t=211929"]http://forums.adoption.com/showthread.php?t=211929[/url]
At the request of my family I had to leave and moved from one province to another where my "ancestors" were from *shakes head*. I had never grown up on a reservation, no memory of being around "first nations people" but some jerk decided that it was in my best interest to move to a reservation and get to know extended family. It was such a horrifying experience for me, it was the first time I saw IV drug use, people threatening others with guns, a lifestyle that I was never around. It was a culture shock.
I was never able to "connect" with my adopted family so the brilliant idiots decided that I would magically connect to the ancestoral roots.
In the late 80's many reservations were getting "their" kids back, I had no choice, no one listened to me, no one cared. It was suppose to be a short visit and I was never returned and no one really cared that I was left behind. It was much easier for them to just surrender and leave me on the reserve.
I don't have a connection to my "heritage" even being forced to live on the reserve, I never developed and when I was finally moved into a bigger city, I was relieved. But still haunted by everything that happened.
I don't admit to my "heritage" I refuse to tell people what I am. It isn't something I want. I am ashamed of who I am. I know that sounds bad especially to some of you who are proud of who you are. I hate how I look so much like my birth mother.