Advertisements
Advertisements
If a child had a teacher in school that was attempting to get certified in order to adopt them, could they be considered as kinship? If so could the children be placed in their home during the certification process? I thought that they could, but may be wrong.
I think that it would be depend on your state, social worker, etc. I was my FD's Volunteer Big Sister. DCFS asked me to take her, because her great-grandmother couldn't handle her and her own family would not take her.
I am not kinship but I am "non-related extended family member" because of my ongoing relationship with her.
I became a foster parent only for my FD. I am now her foster parent and legal guardian.
I do believe that there are a few people on this forum who were former teachers of their foster.
P.S. I am a high school teacher. I don't know how it would look to become a student's foster parent. We're not supposed to give students' rides home, etc. I'm sure it's happened but I definitely don't know the procedure.
Advertisements
I am pretty sure that on the Adoptive Parent board there is a mother that was able to adopt her child bc she was his teacher. Try cross posting there.