Advertisements
Advertisements
I think our 4 yr old FD is ADHD and I plan to take her to ped Dr to get a proper diagnose and possibly meds.
She talks constantly. I mean literally, she never stops.
She even makes noise in her sleep.
She can't sit still at all, very hyper all the time.
Her preschool teacher sends notes home at least once a week saying she won't stay in seat or line, not listening or following directions, she's been removed from library for not staying quiet. Very loud, etc..
This is constant behavior and I've been working with her for several months, but its not helping.
Her hyper behavior is not the everyday normal preschool behavior. It's excessive.
Do you think a ped Dr would put a child that young on light meds for ADHD?
To be honest, there are days she drives us nuts!
I go outside to get a short break and she talks through the window. She seriously never stops talking. I don't expect meds to help with that, but I know they will help calm her a little and possibly help her control the behavior better.
Help!!!!
Advertisements
I also have a 4 year old. He is a high-energy chatterbox, so I can sympathize with the constantly talking, constantly moving thing!
I think most doctors will not diagnose ADD/ADHD in children at this age. Mostly because, well, at this age, they essentially ALL have ADHD. As the brain matures, the kids who can't develop the ability to calm, focus, etc are eventually diagnosed.
That said, it's worth talking to your little one's pediatrician about her overabundance of energy. There might be some dietary suggestions that can be made (some kids react with hyperactivity when they eat/drink things with artificial colors, for example). Or there might be other suggestions that can be made to help her learn to calm down a bit, harness her energy.
I'd personally be VERY wary of medicating a child this young.
Check with your doc and see what s/he says.