Advertisements
Advertisements
My baby has a gtube, she has had it for 4 months. It has been infected three times already. I am hoping that their might be some g tube experts on here that can help me, I need suggestions on how to keep this from happening. I am a nurse, so I know about cleanliness, hand washing etc. Is there anything else I can do. I hope someone has a secret remedy.
Like an infection around the stoma? Cameron has never had one. His always looks great and is rarely red, but I clean his a little differently than most people.
What do you clean it with? Do you use gauze? Does it leak very much?
This is what I do: I use a couple cotton swabs dipped in Cameron's Aquaphor Gentle Wash. I then clean it with tap water, dry it and then do a layer of Bacitracin. I then do 2 gauze underneath it.
Advertisements
Infected how? Actual infection or granulation issues?
We fought granulation daily with our foster son, our son's wasn't as bad.
We used guaze pads under our son's mickey, as ddw describes. But he had a lot of seepage, infected or not.
We used bactroban twice a day too.
Are you using an antibiotic cream preventatively? If not, I would.
Same as the two previous experts described.
OK. I will be honest. I only used antibiotic cream when it started looking red and I used a baby wipe instead of all the stuff you are actually supposed to clean it. So maybe I am not the best example setter. But perhaps I was unintentionally onto something. (my DD didn't need her g-tube so wasn't as critical to us as it may be to you). If you are messing with caustic cleaning agents on it too much you might be irritating it which could cause it to get an infection.
Also since she is growing so much, I wonder if she needs to thicker tube part that sits inside the stoma. Like the next size up.