Advertisements
Advertisements
My classes to become a foster mom don't start till July. I am sure they will go over this with us. But, I am just curious. I was told by a friend who's mom fostered, that they were not allowed to take pictures of their foster children. This was years ago that she told me. We are in CA and would be fostering through the county. I am a photographer and I would love to take pictures of them as they grow. It is especially important for the babies to have pictures of themselves when they are older. I definitely wouldn't post their pictures on anything. Another thing, are you allowed to tell (not post pics) your FB friends that you have a foster child?
Advertisements
We most certainly take pictures and it was encouraged to get pics up of them as soon as possible. We did. There are individual and group pics of all five kids I've had so far up on the walls. And I have hundreds of pics on my phone of them and they regularly ask to look through them.
Some foster moms have blogs where they just mark out the faces of their foster children so that the activities are still shared as well as pics of their biological children. We try to do sets of pictures. I'll do pictures showing just the backsides of everyone (like on our way to the pool the first time, I walked behind so I could get a pic of the whole family but not faces). I'll do pics from different angles (our fishing pics are such that I could post them online). I'll do pics with various people in them, making sure to get only siblings in some so I can share with families. I also crop pics to work out the way I need.
For an example of how I've posted pics: [url=http://edufunmom.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/random-pics/]Random Pics :) Mama'ing Again[/url]
Anyway, we take pics :)