Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi,
I am new to all of this, have not even called to get started. My hubby and I would like to be foster parents. We live in IL. We have a 12 year old son that lives with us and my hubby has children from a pervious marriage who visit every few weeks.
I have two main questions and I am sure that these will be different from state to state. First, is it better to go through a private organization (someone told me that it was but this was in passing and I did not have a chance to ask any questions) instead of DCFS, and if so why? Also, how do the private organizations find out about the children that they place for foster care?
My other question is when will be need to buy the necessities and what are they? We would love to foster a baby but I think we could work with anyone up until 4 or so. I know that we will need a crib, car seat and such. Do you all have a handful of bottles that you keep at home just in case you get a call? I want to make sure we have what we need but don't want to buy things too early just in case something doesn't work out.
Thanks so much!
Hi and welcome to the boards!
I am in IL and even within the state it is going to vary by county. I will say that Catholic Charities no longer will do foster care or adoptions from the state so you need to check if there is any other private agencies in your area.
We are licensed through the state and we took our PRIDE class through a private agency. They work together in most areas (thankfully)
As for placements all agencies, state and private, in your area work on a rotating basis. One week DCFS has the first call for kids, next week they are second on that list, and so on. Each agency gets a set amount of time to find a family for their kids before it gets past to the next agency.