Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi everybody,
I'm a new foster-to-adopt parent of two toddlers who is 6 months into placement. Our adoption hit up against every single one of our biggest fears: toddlers (when we were kids our family had a disrupted adoption of toddlers that broke our hearts) with special needs, and sexual abuse history that was discovered only just before placement. Along with that, we're a nontraditional family, and I'm feeling like the odd one out because I'm not "mom" and not sure who I can be in the family.
I'm grieving that I'm not going to have the kids I had hoped to have. I can be the parents my kids need--I have faith in that. But I need some way to grieve the future I had hoped for before I can get there. Does anyone else have that experience? Do you have any suggestions on how to grieve? I'm not good at grieving. I tend to find safety in being angry or busy.
Thanks.
Anger is just the fear trying to find it's way out. PRocess what makes you afraid and turns to anger and you'll process it all. However, I think grieving can be fairly fast, and then cycle back around later. There really is no right way to grieve. Just talking about your fears with someone, and saying it all out loud can help you organize your thoughts.
There are no guarantees. Letting go of expectations is paramount. Assess your kids now and reset the expectations. There's no reason you can't be the mom too. A parent is a parent. Each parent does the job that needs to be done. And slowly you drift into roles you each are best suited for, but that isn't a static placement. It's ebb and flow, constantly evolving. Sometimes you take the lead, sometimes your partner does. When she can't handle it anymore, you step in and vice versa.
Besides, not every traumatized child is forever broken. Kids can heal, and learn to cope with triggers.