Advertisements
Advertisements
My birth mom and I have been in contact for about six months. We have become very close by talking on the phone on a regular basis. She lives seven hours away from me and we haven't yet met. There seemed to always be something preventing us from meeting. First, I was a minor and my family wasn't supportive of me meeting her, we both broke bones (my leg and her clavicle), I had a lot of drama in my family, and then she had drama in hers... on top of the physical distance, work, and I'm a full-time student.
Anyways, she called me three hours ago and told me that she is in my town. Without telling me she drove seven hours with her sisters to my town to 'surprise' me. She expected me to be thrilled, but I felt a combination of anger, anxiety, nervousness, and excitement. She lied to me all day about what she was doing and where she was going, and then she showed up with her sister at the library at my University (my regular study place). She wasn't able to enter the library, because it is reserved for students only, but her plan was to basically show up at my school without any warning.
I feel like I've been lied to, I feel like she tried to 'trick' me into meeting her, and I'm really hurt that she just kinda threw this at me. I love her and I want to meet her, I want to have a relationship with her- but I just feel SO overwhelmed right now. She is sitting in a hotel room right now, and I've driven by the hotel 8 times in the past two hours... but I can't make myself park. I don't know what's wrong with me and I don't know what to do.
She's calling me, and I know that she is terrified that she's pushed me away... but I haven't answered the phone because I just don't know what to say. I don't want her hurt her but I can't make these feelings go away.
Does anyone have any advice? Am I being crazy, am I being too hard on her? What should I do and how do I reduce this anxiety that I'm feeling?
Any input would be greatly appreciated.