Advertisements
Advertisements
My husband and I are in the process of adopting through the foster system. It has been my dream for many years to adopt a deaf child. I know sign, my husband knows some and is willing to learn more, I was a teacher so I have some knowledge of ow the educational system works...I just think we have a lot to offer. I read somewhere the easiest way to adopt a deaf child is internationally. This is definitely not an option for us now, and I don't know if it ever will be. I guess I'm wondering if anyone knows if it is possible to adopt deaf domestically and how one would go about doing that. Right now we'd be just be happy to have a completed home study (it has been an awful process every step of the way), but if I would love to fulfill my dream of adopting deaf someday, if not now.
If you are thinking newborn domestic, your chances may not be great, as many times it is not known that the child is deaf until after they are born and so often now, matches are made before birth or right after. It would not hurt to contact adoption agencies and let them know of your interest, but I would avoid any that wanted you to pay just to have them keep your info on file in case a deaf child came into care. There are probably deaf children in the foster care system, but that would take a new home study and classes. You could do a search on domestic agencies that do special needs adoptions and see if any would just keep your name on file.
Advertisements
I finalized the adoption of my eldest son in 2009. He will be going in for the 2nd part of a two-part surgery for a Baha cochlear implant in April. We will schedule the date on Monday. I adopted him via the foster care system. He has some hearing, but needs hearing aids to 'get by' in the world. He has worn the Baha band for about a year and is doing very well with it.
btw: I knew pretty much at placement that he was hard-of-hearing because he failed the first 11 hearing tests as a newborn. He is now six.