Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi, All, this is my first time posting. I am discovering that talking to my husband, girlfriends and family hasn't helped me find peace. Maybe you can be my teachers.
Our DD's first birthday is approaching. She's been with us since the day of her birth. Her Bmom lives about a half day's drive from us. We have an open adoption, which contractually means letters and pictures every six months. Thus far, Bmom has seen DD for a visit at six months, had several emails and pics from both my husband and myself, and saw her several times while we were in the same city waiting for paperwork to clear.
Husband offered to Bmom to spend first birthday together, which I was okay with but not super duper thrilled at. He offered us to drive to her town to meet up for the day.
Asa it turns out, Bmom is now in a different state, with her family. She is still within a half-day's drive, but about two hours farther away. She offered to come to our city instead for DD's birthday.
Again, I can consider this but am not totally comfortable in having her at our house for a day or more. She could stay with us (not sure about that one!!) or she could stay in a hotel (not sure we should ask her to outlay that kind of money when she's just getting some steam going in her career and she doesn't have a lot to spend.)
I want to have a family birthday with our family and friends who are in town. I'm not sure how comfortable Bmom or loved ones would be all together for this happy occasion, another potential layer of weirdness.
I realize how special DDs bday is to Bmom; it's obviously special to us, too. I'm not sure I'm ready to open up our family home to Bmom, but I don't want to alienate her or shut her out, either. She's been nothing but pleasant when we've had contact with her. Even though I struggle with the knowledge that my daughter has a 'first mom' out there who's not me, I want to do right for my daughter and keep a pleasant relationship with Bmom.