Advertisements
Advertisements
I am brand new to the adoption game. I have always wanted children but my husband and I are unable to have them naturally. I have been toying with the idea of adopting a sibling group. For those of you that have gone forward with sibling group adoptions, what have been your rationales? I understand that there are pros and cons to any adoption. I would assume that having a sibling group would allow the children to feel more secure initially. And, I have always wanted more than one child. I am one of three children in my family and have really appreciated having my siblings. However, the option of adopting a single child and than another child later on down the road could also create that family.
Thanks
There is a great need for families willing to adopt sibling groups, which most agencies define as groups of three or more, often with at least one child who is of school age or who has special needs. Many families are unwilling to deal with the major challenges of becoming an "instant family" of three or more children, and they often languish in foster care domestically or in orphanages or foster care internationally. Infant, toddler, or preschooler twins or two siblings below school age, especially relatively healthy ones, are NOT considered hard to place, and are usually not photolisted. In fact, many agencies have waiting lists of families who want relatively healthy twins.