Advertisements
Advertisements
This is my first time posting. My DH and I are getting ready to start the adoption process and I know that you have to provide references. I am in Virginia and can not find anything relating to who can be a reference. The only people who have seen us interact with children is our family. None of our friends have children. My cousin is adopted and as she was growing up I use to interact with her a lot, so I would really love to use her as a reference but since she is related I don't know if this is allowed. I am sure it is a little early to be thinking about this but I like to have all my ducks in a row. Anyone have any suggestions or thoughts? Thank you in advance :o
Thanks. My DH and I will be married for 2 years in May but have been together for almost four. He started his job two days before he met me so all the people he works with know us as a couple so I am sure they will be good references. I also have known the other grandmother of my cousin (she has a total of 3) for my whole life so I am sure she would be a good one as well. My DH is retired military and before he met me I had just gotten out of an abusive relationship and did not have many friends so we are just now making some couple friends. I guess this is why the reference thing is bothering me a little. Is this something I should be worrying about?
Advertisements